Skip to content
← All reviews

AI captions and short-form video editing

Submagic review

Turns talking-head clips into captioned Reels and Shorts in minutes, from $12 a month — as long as your videos stay under two minutes on Starter or five on Pro.

Prices and terms checked against Submagic's own pages — sources.

Pick Submagic if…

  • Freelancers, coaches and small marketing teams posting talking-head Reels, TikToks and Shorts
  • Anyone who wants animated captions and basic cuts without learning a video editor

Skip it if…

  • Long-form editing — videos are capped at 2 minutes (Starter) and 5 minutes (Pro)
  • Podcasters who mainly cut long episodes — Magic Clips is a separate $19 add-on with 10 uploads a month
  • Detailed timeline editing — it is a template-driven editor, not a full editing suite

Submagic is a browser-based editor for short-form video: it adds animated captions, removes pauses and bad takes, inserts B-roll and music, and cuts long recordings into several clips ready for TikTok, Reels and Shorts.

How we checked Submagic

Checked without an account on 20 October 2026: pricing page, terms of use and sale, privacy notice, help centre, API documentation, changelog and the 40 most recent and most critical Trustpilot reviews. We have not edited videos in a paid Submagic account; nothing below is a hands-on result.

Checked What we found
Pricing page vs. help centre Magic Clips is a separate add-on ($19 a month, 10 uploads), mentioned only in the help centre
Credits 3 credits per video; credits also pay for AI images and B-roll. Top-ups are sold in the app, prices not published
Pricing page consistency Business custom templates listed as 10, 5 and “Unlimited”; seats as “per member” and as “3 users” / “Unlimited”
Cancellation Takes effect at the end of the paid period, no refund for it (terms §6, §12)
Price changes Possible “at any time with reasonable prior notice”; continued use counts as acceptance (§11)
Your uploads You keep the rights; Submagic gets a licence and may use content for promotion unless you opt out by email (§13)
After cancelling Content is destroyed 60 days after the contract ends unless you request it (§20)
Data processing Processor clause in the terms, no standalone DPA; 12 subprocessors listed, none of them an AI provider; no statement on model training
Product activity Last changelog entry 8 June 2026; no public status page found
Without an account Free caption-text generators and browser video tools, public API docs with MCP server, public help centre

What it really costs

Official prices per member, before tax, as of 20 October 2026.

Scenario Plan Monthly billing Yearly billing
Coach, 3 talking-head shorts a week, under 2 minutes Starter (15 videos) $19 $12 a month
Freelancer, 40 clips a month cut from podcast episodes Pro (40 videos) + Magic Clips add-on about $58 about $42 a month*
Agency, 3 editors, about 100 clips a month in 4K Business × 3 members $207 $123 a month

* The add-on’s yearly price is not published; we used the monthly $19. Pro has no headroom: the 41st video needs a top-up at an unpublished price or the Business plan. Whether Business really bills every member is unclear, since the same page lists “Unlimited” users — ask sales before buying for a team.

What users report

On Trustpilot Submagic has 4.5 out of 5 from 852 reviews (checked 20 October 2026), with 87% five-star and 7% one-star ratings. In the 20 newest reviews, 17 praise fast support and about half mention time saved. The 20 newest one-star reviews are mostly about support, refused refunds and charges after cancelling or at renewal; about a third report bugs or slow, compressed exports. Our reading: the product works for most users, so the risk is in billing. Cancel well before the renewal date and keep the confirmation.

Submagic vs. the alternatives

Checked Submagic OpusClip Captions CapCut
Entry price $19 a month ($12 yearly) $15 a month $24.99 a month (iOS) $19.99 a month
Free option 3 test videos, watermark Free plan, watermark, files expire after 3 days Free plan without AI credits Free plan
Long video to clips $19 add-on Core feature — Manual
Uploads used for AI training Not stated EU users can opt out Yes, by default Not checked
Data location AWS US/EU Google Cloud, USA Including the USA Not stated for the EU

Prices from each vendor’s pricing page, 20 October 2026.

Change log

  • 20 October 2026: Prices unchanged. Added Magic Clips add-on, credit use, content licence, deletion after cancellation and user reports; privacy score lowered from 3.5 to 3 (no standalone DPA, no training statement, promotional use is opt-out).
  • 13 October 2026: Prices and plans checked.

What one credit buys here compared with the other tools is in AI credits explained; what to check before customer data goes into it, in AI tools and the GDPR.

What works

  • Animated auto-captions with many templates
  • Public API with MCP server, documented without a login
  • Removes silences and bad takes, adds B-roll, zooms and music
  • EU company (Paris) with a GDPR-based privacy notice; API plus Zapier, Make and n8n

What to watch

  • Short length caps on Starter and Pro
  • Magic Clips costs extra ($19 a month for 10 uploads), and top-up prices are not published
  • Uploaded videos may be used for Submagic's promotion unless you opt out by email
  • Users report slow exports and billing disputes; fees are non-refundable
  • Some limits contradict each other on the pricing page itself; no changelog entry since June 2026

How Submagic scores

3.5 / 5

  • Value for money Weight 25% 4.0 / 5 Starter is $12 a month billed yearly with 15 videos and no watermark; pricing is per member, so teams pay more.
  • Features for small businesses Weight 25% 4.0 / 5 Animated captions, Magic Clips, bad-take removal, B-roll and an API; videos are capped at 2 minutes on Starter and 5 on Pro.
  • Data protection (EU) Weight 20% 3.0 / 5 EU company with SCCs, but no standalone DPA, no statement on model training, and opt-out-only promotional use of uploads.
  • Try before you pay Weight 15% 3.5 / 5 3 free test videos without a card; a watermark-free download needs a paid plan.
  • Fair terms Weight 15% 2.5 / 5 Fees are non-refundable, consumers keep the statutory right of withdrawal; some limits on the pricing page contradict each other.

The score weighs documented facts — prices, plan limits, terms and the vendor's data-processing documents as of 20 Oct 2026. It is not a lab test. How the score works.

Submagic plans and prices

Plan Billed monthly Billed yearly What you get
Starter $19/mo $12/mo 15 videos a month, up to 2 minutes, 1080p, no watermark — per member
Pro $39/mo $23/mo 40 videos a month, up to 5 minutes, bad-take removal, auto-zoom, stock B-roll — per member
Business $69/mo $41/mo 100 videos a month, up to 30 minutes, 4K at 60 fps — per member
Custom — — SSO and advanced security — price on request

USD, excluding tax, from Submagic's pricing page on 20 Oct 2026. Prices change — the vendor's page is binding.

Alternatives worth a look

OpusClip · Captions · CapCut

Questions

Submagic: common questions

Is there a free trial of Submagic?

Yes. You can upload 3 short videos without a credit card, but downloading them without a watermark needs a paid plan.

Can I get a refund from Submagic?

No. The terms say all monthly and annual fees are non-refundable. Consumers keep the 14-day statutory right of withdrawal unless the service was already fully performed with their consent.

How long can a video be in Submagic?

Up to 2 minutes on Starter, 5 minutes on Pro and 30 minutes on Business, with a maximum file size of 3,000 MB.

Is Magic Clips included in the Submagic plans?

No. The help centre describes Magic Clips as an add-on for $19 a month with 10 video uploads. It is not listed on the pricing page.

What happens to my videos when I cancel Submagic?

Access runs to the end of the paid period. Submagic deletes your content 60 days after the contract ends unless you have asked for a copy, so download everything before you cancel.